[How To] Open Ports on Linksys Router for uTorrent


Someone has requested a tutorial be done for uTorrent to unlock higher speeds. Well, I have a Linksys WRT54GS router, and I can’t possibly cover all the different router configurations out there. However, this site can help explain all the different configurations: http://www.portforward.com

I have found the guide for my router, and have posted it down below. If you need help identifying your router, just look at the bottom of the router and it will have the model number.

**************************************************************************************

Before we can forward ports for Utorrent, we need to figure out what ports Utorrent is using. Here is a brief walkthrough on how to do that. Go ahead and open up Utorrent.

Click Options in the menu at the top of your screen. In the list that drops down click Preferences.

Click Connections on the left hand side of the Utorrent program. You should now see the menu shown in the screenshot above. Make sure the Enable UPnP box is unchecked. The number in the Port Used for Incoming Connections box contains the port you need to forward. You can change the port number, if you want to. Please enter the port you chose into the box below.

Utorrent’s Port for incoming connections

To setup port forwarding on this router your computer needs to have a static ip address. Take a look at our Static IP Address guide to setup a static ip address. When you are finished setting up a static ip address, please come back to this page and enter the ip address you setup in the Static IP Address box below.

Do not skip this step!

Please enter the static ip you want to forward to:

192.168.1.101

Open a web browser like internet explorer or Netscape. Enter the ip address of your router in the address bar of your browser. In the picture above the address bar has http://www.google.com in it. Just replace all of that with the ip address of your router. By default the ip address should be set to 192.168.1.1.


You should see a box prompting you for your username and password. Enter your username and password now. By default the username is blank, and the password is admin. Click the Ok button to log in to your router.


Click the Security link near the top of the page.


Remove the checkmark from the Block Anonymous Internet Requests checkbox.

Click the Save Settings button near the bottom of the page.

Click the Applications & Gaming link near the top of the page.

You should now see a new menu. In this new menu, click Port Range Forward.


Port Range
Application Start End Protocol IP Address Enable
uTorrent 6112 To 6112 Both 192.168.1.101 X

We will list a series of lines here that will show you exactly how to forward the ports you need to forward. Utorrent requires you to forward the ports you entered above. Go ahead and enter the settings shown above into the Port Range Forward menu.

When you’re finished, click Save Settings near the bottom of the screen to save your changes.

And that’s it! You’re done!

Source

Posted on December 30, 2007, in Torrents, tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 42 Comments.

  1. Very helpful, but I ran into the problem where there are multiple laptops that log on and off my network so i don’t always end up with the ip address that the port is forwarded to. It’s helpful to know that you can assign an ip address to your computers mac id and forward the port to that ip. This can be done on the basic setup page. Click on DHCP Reservation button in the DHCP Server Setting section.

  2. Hi. the guide is exactly the same as on portforward.com but i’ve been facing the same problem. utorrent on my laptop says that connections are being blocked by a firewall/router. however on entering the ipaddress into the search bar. it doesnt open the linksys page. instead it takes the search to msn.com. i cant seem to open the page. is there something i can do to fix that becausemy utorrent is ridiculously slow !
    plz do mail me the solutions if possible. i have tried to open the ipaddress from both my laptop and the pc but to no avail.
    my router is WRT54G ver 7.0 .. portforward has not got a guide for this version.

  3. my email id is .. karankhanna@hotmail.co.uk
    thank you so much.

  4. Let’s take this one step at a time.

    Go to your cmd prompt and type this: ipconfig

    Look for the IP address of your default gateway. What does it say? Perhaps something like 192.168.0.1? If so, take this IP address and type it into the web browser URL field and from there you should be able to get into your router admin page.

  5. Like I said earlier, I looked up for the static IP address by doing what you just asked me and on typing that into my search bar, it did not yield anything. The page just diverted to msn search. It DID NOT open the linksys admin page.

  6. I repeat my question below:

    “Look for the IP address of your default gateway. What does it say? Perhaps something like 192.168.0.1? If so, take this IP address and type it into the web browser URL field and from there you should be able to get into your router admin page.”

    Please tell me what you saw, as your previous post alluded nothing to my question. Thanks.

  7. what’s the difference between single and port range?

  8. Single is a single port, and port range is a range like 6112-6118. This is more convenient as you don’t have in so many individual ports at a time.

  9. Thanks so much for this info. I was having alot of problems with my parents router with the ports. Now I am very happy to say my green check is BACK! Thanks again. Moving things along the internet since 1994.

  10. when i punch “admin” in the user and password after opening a browser with my IP it does not accept “admin” as a default password.
    Anyway i can find out the exact user and password code for this?

  11. Try resetting your router then you can have the default password for both login and password.

  12. Lovely, i thing it worked, thanks.
    Still though the note next to the green dot says
    “waiting to log in” after long time, any tip for that???

  13. I did all of the steps and I still have the little yellow triangle. I checked the port through utorrent and it still says it is closed. I followed the steps, put in my port and my ip and it’s just not working. What else could be a problem that is causing this?

  14. If it does not say that your port is open, then something is messing up between the router and your internal ip address.

    Try turning off Peerguardian 2 temporarily if you have it installed.

    You want to make sure that utorrent says port is green and OK.

  15. my ip add is 10.1.1.2

  16. it’s totally different from yours..
    any idea?

  17. thanks for all your help..i solved the question~

  18. How about you tell the rest of us how you fixed it so we don’t fall into the same category as you do?

  19. to the person(s)that is responsible for this info,i want to say thanx.with your help i opened the port to my bittorent. i only want to ask do i have to input the port number for the bittorent in all the available boxes in the port range screen? and if you can help me with my xbox 360 so i can once again be connected to my media on my pc. thanx alott.

  20. I do not have an xbox 360, however portforward.com should have a guide on the xbox 360.

    In Utorrent, I have my port as 57500. In my router, set the UDP and TCP to both 57500.

  21. Hello, I have tried yet again to forward my port with utorrent and many other programs with this guide both from portforward.com and here and I still have the same problem I do everything correct and it doesn’t seem to do it.

    Up above Karan seems to be having the same problem as me but I can get into my admin logon page but still to no avail. The same router also the WRT54G-Linksys I think really its the router I guess its a piece of crap really but if anybody could help out I would really be thankful.

    Is there any posibility that it could be beacuse I am on the internet with a wireless connection or what I mean that seems like the most pluasible cause but then again why wouldn’t they have thought of something like that in the first place. Well anyways if you could help me out I would be very grateful.

  22. Please note that Karan did not come back and answer my questions, so I could not help him out.

    In all honesty, I am bewildered why the portforward guides do not work, because they do.

    If you run command prompt, and type ipconfig, what does it say?

    Are you able to access your router admin page?

  23. Hey guys,

    If you can’t get into the admin page, is that because you can’t connect there?
    Try bringing the router and pc together, and use a lan cable to hook the two up. Then try it again. It should work without you having to be connected to the internet. Also, if you are wireless, it might not work, maybe clear the cache and try different browsers. You might be connected to a different router, so MAKE SURE that you are on YOUR OWN network. Wardriving, networking hopping, or allowing automatic connections might cause a problem.

  24. When i ad my ip to the browser it says “Firefox can’t establish a connection to the server at 79.72.100.172.”
    :(

  25. thats probably because you are adding your PC’s ip. if your not hosting a server and have a firewall, you probably won’t get a connection.
    Are you sure you have the right IP?

  26. Why are you connecting to that IP address?

    You want to connect to 192.168.1.1 or whatever your router is set to.

  27. I reseted my router and I still can’t login to my linksys. Any other suggestions?

    • Login manually with the ethernet cord from your PC to the router. To reset router, make sure to unplug the router. Hold down the reset button, plug in power to the router, and hold the reset button for 30 seconds.

      After this, it will reset. Now you will be able to login to the router.

  28. Peggy Donahue

    selectin DHCP Reservation to add a mac address. When I go to this page, I have a yell triangle and a done beside. It does not allow to add or save.

  29. Dear All, I haven’t been able to open port for uTorrent. I even followed the step-by-step instruction at:

    http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1223619/how_to_open_port_for_torrent_downloading/

    and I still can’t get my uTorrent to show me the GREEN TICK.

    I am using Vista Home Edition, with Motorola SBV5121 and Linksys WRT54G2. Norton 360.

    I was able to open port for my old Motorola SBG1000i (with built-in router). But ever since I changed my modem/router, I could never get my port open.

    Please help and advise what I should do next.

    My Windows Firewall is off. I even unticked the following in my router firewall’s setup as advised above:

    Block Anonymous Internet Requests
    Filter Internet NAT Redirection

    I have also untick the following in Norton’s Firewall – Traffic Rules:

    Default Windows File Sharing

    Nothing’s changed. It’s so discouraging. I don’t know what I did wrong. Please help me. The download is miserably slow. Thanks much.

    • There is hope, do not discourage so soon!

      1) http://www.portforward.com , did you follow the guide for your router?
      2) I think Norton is a problem. Do you mind disabling it or uninstalling it?
      3) In utorrent, make a port like 57500. Now if your ip address is 192.168.0.5, in the router admin page, make sure that for 192.168.0.5, port 57500 is open for both TCP and UDP.
      4) Re-run the utorrent port checker. If it is still not green, disable peerguardian or let utorrent.com through (that is if you are using utorrent).

      If still stuck, then maybe when you and I are online we can chat over IM and have it sorted out in a jiffy. The router I am not worried about. The Motorola is just a cable modem right? Or is it a router/modem?

  30. Please ignore my previous message. Silly me. My port is open, it was just that I had this error message, “Listen Port Error” with the RED icon.

    After doing some search on google, I found out that the solution is to delete the SETTING file in uTorrent and restart the programme. It worked!

    Thanks.

  31. Hey Versatile,

    Thank you so much for your advice, although it was my fault for mistaking Listen Port Error for Port Not Open. :)

  32. im confused.can u help? i was able to portforward before my comp died,and now my new comp when i typed ipconfig,it jus say its nt a operable command thinggy.Also,i cant login to my router anymore.i feel lost once again.wad should i do?

  33. deer friends,
    i am doing my net with my nokia e51 mobile phone with dial up connection and when i use
    utorrent the open port problem is shown. how can i make it green. i am using my BSNL sim to do net.
    what is the open port for this situation…..
    please help

  34. hey guys, i recommend you to try this manual, i believe you will find it useful:

    http://www.uitips.com/tips/how-to-open-ports-port-forwarding

  1. Pingback: Setup home web server to public

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,284 other followers