It’s not too late to fix regret!


Introduction

Well obviously we have all regretted something in our lives whatever it may be, it has left you scarred and you just don’t know how to fix all of your problems, not to call myself a psychiatrist or anything.

Suffering from the roads not taken?

Well, at some point in your life you must have said, “I wish I had done that, but didn’t.” This often happens because of our human instinct of fear and scariness. Fear overcomes even the bravest of minds, and it puts our brains into submission mimicking it into thinking that what we are doing is dangerous. Then later, we beat ourselves up for not taking the risk.

How do I take more risks?

Obviously this is a tough question because most people are cowards. Not speaking about fear is general, just the “taking risks” part. But before we can answer this question we must be truthful and make sure that we are not lying to ourselves to make us feel better. You must be honest with yourself, OR THIS WILL NOT WORK! Every chance you get you must attempt to take, even the smallest ones. For example, today I saw a girl I liked in school that I didn’t know. Now to the average person, it wouldn’t even cross their minds to go over there and talk to her because by just using logic you can most likely tell that your chances are slim to none. Then the one time you actually attempt to go talk to her you will back down at the last second, and make up an excuse for yourself such as, “she won’t even talk to me so why bother?” To the untrained risk taker this would be an almost impossible choice! To put it into logic, you will never win the lottery if you don’t buy a ticket. Sure your chances are small, but it’s better than nothing. If you never talk to that girl you will never know what might have been. So practice taking risks every chance you get. Do things you would never have thought of doing. Start out small, and gradually increase in the size of the risk. Talk to that one person you would never have usually talked to, play that instrument you’ve always wanted to play, and do things like you have never done them before!

Why bother taking risks if they will most likely end in failure?

This is common sense that you should not do things that will fail, but risk taking is the exception. Ask yourself this, “If I were to die tomorrow would I be happy with my life?” Some people might have said yes and answered truthfully, but the majority will have probably answered no. Whenever I ask other this question I get the excuse, “Well I’m still young, I have my life ahead of me, I can just do it in the future.” ENOUGH WITH THE EXCUSES! Stop lying to yourself and just go out there and do it! There is an old saying that most people know; “Never do tomorrow what you can do today.” That is, never put off anything you can do right now for the future. Procrastination is one of man’s worst habits, and yet most don’t even consider it a problem.

Is it too late for me?

Before you can answer this, take a good look at your life. Are you stuck in a dead-end job? Do you repeat your routine daily? Do you have nothing that makes you wake up with a smile? If you answered yes to any of these questions then you can and should improve your life. Obviously this is easier said than done, but “where there is a will there is a way.” Just think about this for a minute or two; say to yourself, “I want to change my life, and I CAN!” If you just got a bit of confidence right there then you can truly do it.

Things to keep in mind:

1. You can do it if you truly want to.
2. Take risks no matter what.
3. Feel confident about who you are.

*I recommend reading “Overcoming regret. Lessons from the roads not taken.”

About venomouswonder

I'm just the mere age of 19. I write, and I F**CKING love it.

Posted on September 22, 2009, in Advice, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Regret – It’s part of human life to have something regretted. If I had studied harder, maybe I would have gotten an A in that class.

    If I had got a faster car, perhaps I could have escaped that bank sooner from the robbery.

    If I had learnt how to swim, I could have saved that 2 year old child in that recent Atlanta flood. What do you regret in life?

    For me, it is regretting that I never got in touch with my childhood friend. When I was younger, there was a boy down my street, Bobby A. and we were the best of friends. I was there almost every single day, playing football or throwing the baseball around.

    He moved when I was about 8 or 9 years old, and I wish I had gotten his contact information. Now I try to search for him on Facebook and its near impossible because a lot of people come up with the same names. Plus, who is to guarantee he is even on Facebook , or what he looks like?

    I wish that one day I get back in touch with him, and maybe I will but it will be a tough journey. What is he doing now? Is he married? Where does he live and so on.

    That is what I regret. If I had gone back in time, I would have kept a closer relationship with him and we would still be talking today, but unfortunately I have no idea where he is, or if he even remembers me. How sad is that?

    If you have a best friend now, I suggest you savor the times you are together. You never know what will happen, and if disaster will ever strike.

    My sister is 10 yrs old. Her friend’s father recently passed away. He had a heart attack while driving and got into an accident. Luckily, no one got hurt, and the daughter is about 10 years old too.

    Thankfully, my parents are still alive, and really what I should do is cherish the time I am with them and learn from them the best I can. What do I need to know about investments, retirements, stock market, and so on so I can be my own man? Not have to work for the money, but live life to its fullest?

    What do you regret in life?

    • Well, it is terrible to lose a friend like that, but I believe it’s essential to regret something important because it truly teaches us to take more risks, and to better ourselves. It teaches us not to make that same mistake EVER AGAIN!

      As for me, what I regret….. It’s a list that unscrolls down to the bottom of the Grand Canyon….

  2. I answered yes to two of those questions so I guess I need to change my life? I guess I am a untrained risk taker, I have the hardest time speaking to people, mostly anybody. If you were to ask any one of my friends they would tell you that I am an extremely quiet person. I have really been working hard to overcome this state of quietness especially now since I am in college for the first time in my life. I really enjoy reading posts like this on the Underground, some of them are really inspirational.

    • Well, I urge and partially beg you to get out there and do all you can, and remember we’re here and we support you 100%! If you have any questions or are stuck along the road, feel free to contact us again! We are here to help you. Just think of how much you will regret not talking to anyone or trying anything new, and let that drive you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,284 other followers