imo.im – An Online Web Portal Instant Messenger (MSN, Yahoo, Skype, and more!)


 

imo.im login page

Revisions: 3-12-12: Initial release.


These last few days I have been toying around with my CR-48, and since this is a machine that is meant to be on the web at all times, I have to forgoe the use of local software.  One of the things that I traditionally use on my laptop or desktop is the Skype client.  However, did you know that there is only one service right now that lets you access your Skype contacts (and make calls) online without having to download the actual Skype program?

Yup, its possible and that service is called “imo”.  You can visit it at http://www.imo.im.

The website is pleasantly simple, and it doesn’t take much resources on the PC when compared to its competitors such as meebo.com or trillian.im.

You just login under one account, then you can start adding all your other clients and link them together.  The beauty of linking accounts is that one login automatically logs you into your other accounts with minimum hassle and pain free.

For instance, I login to my Skype account, and then the imo.im website will automatically connect my Yahoo, Jabber, and MSN accounts to go online without me manually logging into them. Pretty sweet, right?

This is a great time whenever I am on the run, or I am at a friend’s house and don’t want to download a client to only uninstall it before I leave. If you are a heavy or mild user of instant messengers, definitely check out imo.im!

Posted on March 12, 2011, in Computers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Does this support voice messages too for Skype? Eversince i got the latest update of the software, things didn’t fare very well anymore. Left with no other option, I have to purge the application off my pc and until now, i still can’t get it to resintall. Many thanks for this discovery Versatile.

  2. Hello buddy.

    I have come to know about IMO just before few days. I have found it awesome!
    I have surfed the internet for more info about the IMO because i was wanted to write a post on it.

    I have a news for you, IMO has launched IMO-Now the voice and video service. you can check it out here : http://blog.imo.im/2011/06/imo-launches-imo-now.html

    You may be interested to see my post on IMO at my blog.. [ http://technologytracks.wordpress.com/?p=131

    Thanks,
    – Darshan

  3. Woah this weblog is excellent i really like reading your articles. Keep up the great paintings! You understand, lots of people are searching round for this information, you can help them greatly.

  4. I would like to thnx for the efforts you have put in writing this article. I am hoping the same high-grade article from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skill has inspired me to get my own blog now. Truly the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a fine model of it.

  5. “http://www.imo.im” is a great portal. Very simple in use. However, it does not support skype any more. Do you know any other portal that has skype in a way “imo” had?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,286 other followers