Pabswikk’s Monotonous Speeches [PMS] No. 2


Hello again! Sorry for the laaaate post, I had a few issues at home to sort out.

As I said last post, this week is going to be about a certain event in 2009 that I am looking forward to eagerly.

That is Watchmen!

WATCH out for this one! (Oh the hilarity!)

WATCH out for this one! (Oh the hilarity!)

I am not going to bore you too much about the details of the comic itself. What I do want to say is I’ve been reading comics since I was about 5 and what I know is everything BEFORE this comic [Graphic novel] was sometimes hard to take seriously. After this comics took on a much darker turn. Look at Batman today :

This guy is going to beat seven shades of s**t out you!

This guy is going to beat seven shades of s**t out you!

And look at him BEFORE Watchmen:

Yeah, because kicking the giant Gorilla is reeeeaaaaally going to achieve anything

Yeah, because kicking the giant Gorilla is reeeeaaaaally going to achieve anything

There were many terrible comics to choose from…I may not have chosen the best examples, but to see all the examples of superheroes making fools of themselves, visit Superdickery

So to sum up my point, Watchmen gave comics a gritty tone. Death, rape and violence all in one story. It gave a more serious edge to comics, raising issues such as communism and utalitarinism. The most exciting development before this in comics was the death of Gwen Stacey in SpiderMan.

If it seems I’ve gone off point, I haven’t. My reason to babble so much is that over the past few years superhero films have been rolling into the box office faster than you can say ‘Look to the sky!’ I hope that Watchmen next year does for films what it did to comics. Because after that we have a looooong list of Marvel and DC movies being released (Thor for instance) and if they don’t meet my ridiculously high expectations I will cry.

So I leave you with this question:

Who will Watch the Watchmen? I know I will!

Next week!!!

In lieu of the recent release of Wrath of The Lich King, I’m going to be talking about MMORPGs, as I’m sure many of you know and hate them!

Gh3y f4g LOL!

Gh3y f4g LOL!

Posted on November 16, 2008, in Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. i agree with your points about comics taking a turn for the darker. i do have to point out though that watchmen was published between 1986 and 1987 while The Dark Knight Returns was printed in Feb 1986 to June 1986. just saying that Watchmen isn’t the sole reason for Batman becoming more of an adult comic book character.

Leave a Reply

