Update from Versatile – Book Cover Contest Inside! Prizes will be awarded!


8/16/09:  Initial Release.  Added book cover contest. Deadline = Thursday night (8/20/09) – 6PM Central time

NewsBreak:  Hail and I have started to acquire some potential pictures for the new book.  I am looking at showing off the top 10-20 images on Thursday night, 7PM Central time.  If you want to submit your entry, please send it to versatileninja [at] yahoo.com for consideration.  I will then put up a poll for a week and if the winning picture is from someone who is not part of the Underground staff will win a special edition of the book with your name recognized as well as a dedication to you specifically, with my own personal signature.

The sad part is if no one participates, then that means no one will receive this distinguished award!  ~ Versatile

This week is going to be a busy week for me in terms of the blog.  The original plan was to release the newsletter late this week, but it is too early to tell if I am going to get to it or not.

Next week I am super busy since I am traveling Monday through Wednesday for a business trip, and then next Thursday I move into a new house.  No idea when I get Internet service at my new location.  Maybe I’ll decide to not get it for awhile so I can focus on the book exclusively? >_>

All right so back to the book.  It is going along great!  I am about 24 pages in, and this is just the beginning.  What do I use for typing?  Microsoft Word of course.  It really is a great tool, and it is the king of word processing  in my opinion.

Now last night I spent almost 3 hours with a fellow underground user on IM talking about life in general and the book was brought into conversation.  An idea sparked in my head thanks to the other participant, and I said yes, it would be very cool if I can use your idea, give you credit, and mentioned your name/location in the book!

As I thought about it more, is it possible other people from the community want to contribute some ideas to the book and be recognized?  Wouldn’t that really make your friends jealous?  I know I would be jealous if I saw my best friend recognized in an Underground book!

OMG, how can I participate?  I want to be recognized too!

The best way to contribute is to email (versatileninja at yahoo.com) me your idea.  By posting your idea here on the blog, someone may steal it and try to get recognition for it.  If the idea is good enough, and it has inspired me to use it, then I will.

I will then ask for your call sign (How do you want to be recognized in the book) as well as your location. This way people know it is you from your town, and not general like Bob from USA when I can say Bob from Hilton Heights, Florida.  Get my drift?

Very sick.  How is the book coming along?

The book is coming along very well. I still have a long way to go before I complete it, but I can assure you what I have already is very good so far.  I can’t wait to release it as I am dying to write it as you are dying to read it.

I’ve decided that for the book, it will not be on technical articles, but rather on high level concepts.  Why do people do what they do?  Piracy and how to detect it, and why its important to you even if you don’t engage in it, etc.

If I talk too much about it, it will ruin the element of surprise.  Anyway, below is a screenshot of the table of contents as it is today.  Next week, we can expect it to change drastically. ;0

Note:  I have a lot of headers to keep me on track.  That is why a lot of the pages is 24, but with no content yet. ;0

Two More Things!!!

As  I get closer to finishing the book, I would like some input for possible book titles. Right now I have it named simply “The Underground Book”.  I’m sure we can do better than that!

So over the next month, I will be constantly polling you guys for ideas and suggestions.  If you have an idea for the name of the book, let me know here on this post or just email me.

Over the course of time, I will have a list of names and then we vote for the best one.  The one whose title is selected will have the book digitally signed by me, and I will include a special thank you note as part of the book so you can flaunt it with buddies.

The next item is I am still trying to figure out what to do for the book’s cover. I am currently thinking of doing two items so far:

1) A picture of some kind of bad ass fractal art

2) A picture of a rabbit hole

This is where you come in, and I’m going to make this a quickie.  What we are going to do is host a contest, and see if I can get entries in to my e-mail by this Thursday.

Maybe you can make something for me, or if you got a badass idea that would represent the book then please e-mail me.  As usual, I can put up a poll and the winner will get a special autographed book, and most likely their name into the book.  Sounds great?  Let’s see if anything happens then!

—->Here are the rules for the book cover contest:<—-

1) The theme of the book is “Underground”.  Please pick a picture that somehow relates to all things “Underground”.

WTF!  What does it even mean to be “Underground”?!

Sorry, did I throw you a curveball?  It be easier if I explain how Underground fits into the blog’s image here.  When I think “Underground”, I think of that knowledge that hardly no one knows.  This could be stuff related to computers, gadgets, or exploits related to technology.  Now let’s broaden the horizon a bit.  Time to time we have articles about life. Maybe you know that special “lifehack” that makes your car run better, or you know a great way to manipulate people.   You know, a life hacker or something that gives you the mystery and awe of something underground.

I want a picture that when you look at it, you can nod your head and go “Yup, that’s pretty underground like”.  If you find a picture that you think is a good fit, don’t be afraid to add a few lines to your picture and explain why you think it would be a good fit for the Underground theme.  To us, it might be a bowling ball, but to you, it is a black ball that represents darkness and hidden knowledge within the 3 holes of finger snapping fear?  See, that was easy right?

2) Pictures cannot be explicit.  No swearing, nudity, violence, etc.  Use your own discretion.

3) Pictures can be of any format.  Hand draw, found online, personal photograps, photoshop, or other.  If you are scouring the net for pictures, we ask that you pick a picture that is not watermarked across the whole image.

If you want ideas, go to photobucket.com or flickr.com for your inspiration.

4) Do not pick a picture because you think it will work with a hypothetical title in your head.   Just focus on finding that great picture, and the titles will come later.  I assure you, it will be fine!

5) Yes, you can submit as many pictures as you want.  We will decide how many of your pictures make it to the final round.

6) Once all pictures have been submitted to versatileninja {at} yahoo.com by 6PM central time on Thursday, I will review it with the other authors and select the top 20 images that we feel would be right for the book.  I will then post a poll, and leave it open for 1 week for you, the community, to vote for.  The winner will then receive a special prize once the book is released!

Other pieces of advice:  Creativity counts!  Don’t go for some “normal” look. If you find something cool, and you can explain to us how it relates, you have a good shot at being in the top 20!

I hope this sound exciting, because it sure is exciting to me. As I finish writing this post, I have 3 individuals asking me questions, so I hope this clears everything up. Let the races begin!!!!

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Blog Updates, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

