[Poem] World on Top of my Shoulders

Note:  This is the first time I have written a poem in over 10 years.  Take it lightly, and if this goes well perhaps I will write some over over the course of time.

Everyone is so different,

yet we are so vastly the same.

We work for the money,

it is the item that gives us joy in life, but does it?

We all live the same day and have the same time,

but where does it all go? How will I use it?

Sleep, work, and play is all good,

but to what avail?

Some days the frustration kicks in.

Everyone wants a piece of my time,

Where is the courtesy to ask?

Is it expected I am free to be available all the time?

Away messages are meant to be read, not ignored.

Traffic signs are to be read and followed,

Laws are not meant to be broken.

So many responsibilities,

so little time.  Can I even do it?

Ask for help,

and all I hear is an echo.

Is anyone listening?

Why can’t people learn to learn,

and not behave like robots?

The darkness is covering my eyes,

and there is so much left to do.

All is not lost,

Versatility is the key to the end.

Posted on September 24, 2009, in News. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. interesting. your style is very unique, but it is 100% you. I’m interested to see what more you will write. I’m liking it.

Leave a Reply

