Black Friday Stories

So I write this today as a reflection on a day full of personal win for me.   I am interested in those who went out shopping today for Black Friday, and if you did, what did you get and was it worth it?

Here is my story for Black Friday 2009:

My brother and his two friends went to Target at 4am this morning to get in line (store opens at 5am).  Their goal?  My brother wanted to get a Western Digital 1TB external hard drive and a 500GB passport, both of them were $60. When they got in line, there were about 28 people ahead of time, and by the time the store opened at 5am, the line was literally around the full length outside wall and around the corner a bit.

Long story short, they got what they wanted, in fact, they got what was the last 3 units on the shelf for the 1 TB external hard drive.  All the other craze fanatics were fighting over the LCD TVs.  A lady asked my brother where to get the 1TB hard drives, and he just smiled and said, “Sorry, they ran out!”

Now  I was not enthused to wake up at 4am to stand in line, so I did what any smart person would do… sleep in!  I ended up going to Walmart later in the morning around 11:30AM. I walked in, got the TomTom 125SE GPS for $59.99 (it was one of the last 3), picked up a new Eureka vacuum ($35) and went on my merry way back home.  You could say I was lucky, because 10 minutes later all the 125SE series were gone, but there was a whole shelf of the 325 model units for $89!🙂

Worst case scenario: If they ran out of the 125SE model, I would have been fine picking up the other model, but since its there, I got what I could and got out of there.  I wasn’t like all those other chumps that camped out at night to get some ridiculous deal.

How was your day?  Did you get what you wanted or not?  See anybody get trampled by the Black Friday festivities? Let us know!


Voltaire’s got a story!

So I got some great deals. I walked into Target around.. 4 pm.
Picked up some nice jacket, the last one in my size. Actually, there were only 2 the size bigger, and they were small jackets too.  Got a nice shirt for $5, some new shoes too.

Then I walked into the electronics section. The deals sucked. Hardcore.
So I was getting depressed, all I wanted was a new jumpdrive, and seriously the prices were just jacked up. The best deal I could see was like 10% off… maybe $2 at best, and I was sure as heck not buying that when I could go online.

I got really lucky, because I turn down a different aisle, and walk into an employee who is holding a 4 gb lexar twistturn in his hand. i ask him for the price on that, it’s $10 50% off, and comes with $50 of free music downloads.

Best deal I saw all day, it was the last one too.

Otherwise, deals today sucked. Not as good as years past.

But yea, that’s all


Posted on November 27, 2009, in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I witnessed a fist fight break out in a Toys R Us store on Long Island N.Y. this past ‘Black Friday’. I don’t exactly know why the fight took place but the manager quickly closed the store and booted everybody out!🙂

  2. Mike , check this link out …

    and forget the fights😐 … lol ..

    Black friday + shop + people who are hungry for stuff = MAYHEM

    nice math !! ..LOL

  3. Looking through the Black Friday ads in the newspaper, my girlfriend and I saw that Best Buy was selling a PS3 bundle, including Little Big Planet and Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction, for $299.99. Both games are $59.99, so we’d save $120. We decided to go ahead and buy it. The ad states that tickets for the door buster sales will be handed out, at the earliest, 2 hours before the store opens. Best Buy opens at 5AM. We leave the house at 1:30AM, get to Best Buy at 2:00AM, and the line to get in is past the ROSS next to it and all the way to the doors of the Old Navy on the other side of ROSS. Did I mention that it was raining and windy? Oh, and at one point it HAILED?! Waited till 4:30AM until the employees started to hand out tickets. Come to find out, they were only handing out tickets for laptops and TVs, not for PS3s. As soon as 5:00 rolled around, we rushed into the store, ran to the video game section, and noticed a huge stack of PS3 bundles, about 30 of them. We were the second party to grab one. We entered and left the store in 5 minutes, and that is including looking around the store after purchasing the PS3. My girlfriend complained that we could’ve just game at 5:00 and easily grabbed one, but I told her that if we did that, then there would’ve been a chance that other customers could’ve grabbed them before we got one. All in all, Little Big Planet is awesome, but the wait was barely worth it.

    • You guys took a risk, and its good that you got there early. Who knows, if you got there at 5am, you had to get at the BACK of the line, and then by the time you got into the store, all those 30 PS3s would be gone!

      Mirror’s Edge level for Little Big Planet rocks man. Go seek it out.

  4. Hey long time since I have looked at the blog but I happen to a black Friday story I went to gamestop and was able to snag L4D2 for only 30$

Leave a Reply

