TeamViewer 6 – Great Free Remote Connection Tool

5-28-11: Initial Release.

So for the last 5+ years, I’ve tested God knows how many remote connection tools to help out with other PC gamers. Some of those examples include UltraVNC, crossloop, and

Out of all of them, the one program I always go back to is TeamViewer. Why? With TeamViewer 6, it has a lot of cool functionality including:

  • Remote connection to a remote PC
  • File Transfer
  • Voice Communications
  • Conference Call capabilities
  • Chat capabilities
  • Recording Sessions
  • Presentation mode
and more.  For me specifically, I have used it a countless number of times to remote connect to other PC gamer’s computers because they are fail at learning how to port forward, despite myself having a video tutorial teaching people how to port forward on their computers.
Nevertheless, I figured out recently how awesome it is to use TeamViewer 6 within my own LAN, without Internet, and still be able to remotely access any one of my computers.  Why is this important? Well, let’s say I have a computer in the basement. Rather than walk downstairs and pull a file onto a usb thumb drive, I can use the TeamViewer built in file transfer mode and get the file in a couple seconds. This is really convenient!
I could rant on and on about the program, but quite honestly, it is pretty simple. See the video tutorial for a quick primer on how to get started!

Posted on May 29, 2011, in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    A quick question. I gave remote control access using “Remote Control”option to my friend.
    He accessed my local disk and started sending files from my PC without asking me. I did not see the file transfer window but only event log window was displayed. So I found that immediately and clicked on “Stop Transfer file” on the event log window. Will that stop the file transferred?
    theother question is how much file/folder size he could have transferred in 5 minutes? Is it possible to transfer 500MB file in 5 minutes using Teamviewer Remote Control?

    • 500MB? No way. Depends on how fast your upload is. You need to put a password on your teamviewer, so if someone tries to access you, they need to know the login and password. How could he access your PC, unless he setup unattended access on your PC. Your friend is a real dick.

  2. Thanks a lot for your reply.
    What does unattended access mean?
    Can he access my PC even after I deleted the teamviewer.exe?
    So if I download and run the .exe again, can I check what are the files transferred, through event log file?
    Or is there any way that I can find what are the files transferred either through teamviewer or through some checks in my PC?

    Appreaciate for your quick response.
    Thanks in advance.

    • 1) If you delete teamviewer, he cannot access your PC.
      2) No, I have no idea what he took from you. Check event log, should be transfer file history.
      3) The real question is how did he access your PC. Teamviewer is to only let other people login if you gave them the login and password.

  3. I only gave him login and password for troubleshooting using Remote Control option. But he did like that.
    Could you please tell me how to verify the event log in my machine? Path to go to event log?

    I am a beginner and do not have much knowledge in system side. Thanks for all your support and help.

    • I don’t know where the event log is stored, if it is even stored. I did a quick test, teamviewer doesn’t save the file transfer log at all. It just lets you know when a file transfer connection was made. See screenshot below, this is when I tried to do a transfer with my own PC. But if you killed that window, you lose the history.

  4. Thanks much. Your answers were really helpful. Appreciate your patience and interest. Thanks a lot again.

  5. You may also want to try this or

    The first Ammyy Admin v3 is a bit easier as it doesn’t require installation, registration
    and specific settings adjustments. It works behind gateways NAT without port mapping. Good alternative though.

Leave a Reply

