Farewell to 2011, and Hello to 2012!


12-31-11: Initial release.

In year 2011, I have to admit the the blog activity, in terms of me writing has been down compared to past years, and this was partly due to a combination of things: work, life related events, as well as more focus on the GameDexterity wikipage.

I’m not sure how many of the Underground readers follow my Youtube channel (GameDexterity), but this year has been busy. Not only have I cranked out various game tutorials, modding  tutorials, and a bunch of misc videos, I have also kicked started a wiki for the youtube channel here.

This past week we broke the 7k subscribe mark, so next week I got a special giveaway to do for handing out some serial keys for a dvd ripper program courtesy of SoThinkMedia.

But enough about the youtube channel. As the year progressed, I have learned to appreciate that both mediums have their pros and cons (doing a video tutorial versus a written one).

There are some trains of thought where making video tutorials is preferred. After all, you just click the record button and do your think. But even video tutorials need some guidance and structure.  Similarly, some people don’t want to watch a 5 minute video, so in this case, a text tutorial might be preferred as the user can just skim the text and pick out what he needs to know.

However, there is no way I’m going to make a text tutorial here for ever video tutorial I make. Granted, I made about 144 videos this year, with about 80% of them being tutorial related. If you do the math, thats a lot of tutorials.

So what am I going to do about it in 2012?  Well, its tough to say. I love the youtube channel, and right now I am working on a special intro project in Adobe After Effects as a way to give back to the Youtube Community.  But because of all the work I do on Youtube, I am sort of neglecting my roles here at the blog. Sure, I come here everyday to answer comments, but I am not posting as much as I used to in my younger years.

The reason for that is surprisingly simple…I just focused on the blog and nothing else. Now that I have a blog and a Youtube channel to maintain, with all the growth really in Youtube, this is the main drive to focus on that more than here.  But you know…I love to write and I will not stop writing.

So one of the things that I will focus more on in 2012 is more blog writing, at the very least as least one blog post per week. As GameDexterity grows, I’m trying to get more volunteers and staff to maintain the youtube comments there as we easily get over 20-30 comments a day. Answering comments with thoughtful answers takes time, in addition to everything else I got to do. As the work load goes down on Youtube, then my focus here can increase.

Don’t worry though, there are a handful of tutorials I still want to write which include modding tutorials on the PSP which I got a month or two ago. I modded it in 5 minutes, so it was an easy mod to do, but I understand not everyone knows how to mod. My PS2 modding journey is done, as I have done everything I could do to it known to man, except playing it online with kali. 2012 I will look into the wii more, and of course, spend more time with adobe after effects and cinema4d on the side as a hobby to make more interesting intros.

As usual, if you are a writer, or love to write and want to contribute to the blog, let me know and something can be arranged. Thank you for following the blog, and let 2012 become a better year! Happy new year!

Posted on December 31, 2011, in News. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Have u made ur psp to work with an external joystick/controller??

    Happy new year to you too!
    I love your blog and i enjoy reading you Alot.

Leave a Reply

