January 22nd, 2012 Blog Update


1-22-12: Initial release.

Hey blog readers,

With the month of January almost over, let me get you guys a quick update in regards to what I’ve been doing off the blog, and why this place is not as updated with content as it used to be in the younger days.

If any of you guys are viewers of my Youtube channel, GameDexterity, I’ve been working hard along with my partner HelloMe7 in producing videos last week. In one week alone, we had about 14 video uploads within 7 days, which is actually a lot since most of the time I don’t get time to make videos until the weekends.

The issue (or benefit) with making video tutorials is that not only are they easy to make, and low commitment, it makes making a text version of it seem futile. After all, if you have a video showing you what to do, is it necessary to make a detailed text tutorial?

Fact of the manner is, and I might have wrote this once before, is that text article writing is a lot of work. Your choice of words are important, as well as the flow of the article, and if you get screenshots and pictures, that is more work as you plan your pictures and placement. Nonetheless, because of my heightened activity on Youtube, it has put a strain on this place, the blog.

Granted, I do come here every day and answer comments, but otherwise, you may have notice that the frequency of new content articles have drained when compared to previous years.

Is it a sign of the times that this blog is dead? No, its not dead. There will always be a need to have an article or text tutorial for a video, or maybe write an article without a video because everything has a purpose.

Onto other news, last week I’ve been busy with my latest mod with a WDTV. Not only have I installed the b-rad firmware, but I have also gotten a D-Link DWA-140 to work with the WDTV, as well as stream movies wirelessly over the network which is cool.

I’ve also did some quick videos on my PS2, PSP, and some other games related tutorials at GameDexterity, and to write the text equivalent of those are just not on my radar right now.

With that said, I’ve come to a crossroad. What do I really write about in the future? I’m not going to convert every video tutorial into a blog article, nor will I convert any blog tutorial into a tutorial as well. I guess I’ll just have to play it by ear as time goes on.

Ideally, if I got more content creators at the Youtube channel, then that is more time to spend here writing. However, I can get barely anyone to help out at GameDexterity with daily consistency, let alone get a helping hand here writing. People are busy, and so am I, so its understandable.

As we head forth into 2012, expect this place to be more of a repository of random information, rather than a daily, or weekly blog of content to help your lives. As usual, if you have any comments or suggestions, let me know as I try to make this blog a better place, despite all my other life commitments going on. Thanks!

Posted on January 22, 2012, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

