PS3 Homebrew App – Movian – Great Way To Play Any Movie File Format


 

Revisions:

7-6-15: Initial release.


 

If you are a PS3 user and you are one of the lucky few with a CFW or modded (jailbroken) PS3 console, you will find out that it cannot play every single movie file format from a usb device. For example, it cannot play .mkv natively, or it doesn’t support .srt subtitle files that are in the same directory as your movie.

The old school method involved converting your videos to .mp4, and hard code your subtitles into the movie (if you want subtitles) so it can play on the PS3 properly. Well, I found a new app called Movian (formerly known as Showtime) that turns your PS3 into the ultimate home theater machine. Think XBMC, but changed for PS3.

There are so many features I could rant about, but there are my favorites:

  • Plays  variety of movie and audio formats
  • Stream online television, audio, and movies using plugins
  • Can automatically download subtitles for your movies
  • Easy to use interface

Installation is a piece of cake. Basically you download the latest .pkg file, put it on your usb fat32 device, plug it into the PS3 front usb port, run the pkg file installer, and then run Movian under the TV Services section on the main XMB screen.

It is a great program that does a lot. I highly recommend it. Don’t take my word for it, see my video tutorial below as well. Enjoy!

Movian: https://movian.tv/

Video Tutorial

 

 

Posted on July 6, 2015, in PS3 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. At first I was skeptical if it was as good as kodi(xbmc) but wow. That’s pretty darn close to it. It’s awesome.

  2. Dude, I hope you see this. It’s Denton. Theres a plan going round for an old school catch up. Hit me up on facebook, it’s all on there. I’m sure you’ve already been added to the group 🙂

Leave a comment