[How To] Play Warcraft 3 The Frozen Throne LAN Online Free Using Tunngle (Forget Hamachi & Garena)


Revisions:

1-11-10:  Initial release.

1-12-10:  Added my youtube video.


Foreword: There is nothing illegal about playing Warcraft 3 LAN online bypassing the Battle.net servers. I have a legit game, and I play on Tunngle with friends time to time. If you are a Hamachi user, I suggest you switch to Tunngle. There are more people and its easier to host!


I love DOTA. I love it so much that I play it when I am sick of playing other games. With that said, someone had requested a Tunngle tutorial on how to play this game online, so here is the tutorial. If you want to play DOTA online with me and the others, add my Tunngle username: Versatile.

Tutorial:

1) First of all, make sure you have the latest game update. You can get the latest Warcraft 3 The Frozen Throne update here.

2) Download and install Tunngle. Make an account. Sign in. If you are having trouble signing into Tunngle, then you need to port forward UDP 11155 for your computer. Don’t know how to port forward? See my video below:

3) Go to the Warcraft 3 Frozen Throne network. Or the Dota Network. To get there, you need to login to Tunngle. Then do Community -> Networks -> Browser -> Strategy -> Forward (Press 4 times) -> Double click on the Warcraft 3 network.

Below is a screenshot of me in the Tunngle room.

4) Launch your Warcraft 3 game. Go to Local Area Network.

5) Create a game.

Your friends will go to Local Area Network and they will see your server.

Once everyone has joined, click Start Game and play!

Video Tutorial

Troubleshooting:

Having trouble with people joining your game? Make sure that:

1) You have port forward UDP 11155.

2) Windows Firewall (or similar firewall program) has not blocked your Warcraft 3 game from accessing the Internet.

3) Make sure your firewall has also allowed program tunngle.exe and tnglctrl.exe.

If there is anything else, sound off in comments!

Posted on January 11, 2010, in Gaming, Tunngle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. I could never get into Dota. I’ve tried, but there’s so much to learn ><. Maybe I'm just lazy…

  2. Look what i found :O

  3. Added Youtube video to post.

  4. patches i used to patch up just a basic drap and drop just in case you got replays to watch

    http://www.dota-utilities.com/2009/09/warcraft-patch-version-switcher-120-121.html

  5. I have Windows 7 and Warcraft 3 not Work
    Please Help

  6. I use windows XP & tunngle version 4.3.2.2 but i still don’t see any list of players in the LAN option in NFS MW nor in Warcraft TFT v. 1.26a

  7. do you have to have a legit account to play this game for free?

  8. Can all you help me, How to combine skill up on the hero TINY to stronger ? please reply to me ! thank you ! 🙂

  9. bi odoo dota haashaa orj ehelj mkulkh uu

  10. sir, i want to know if i setup in server game n i login my account,
    all my client also yg direct go playing on9 ??
    i onwer of cybercafe..

    hope u can respon to me

  11. i love dota
    hooooooooooooooo………………

  12. heka mookarasi adiyos dota

  13. Worked for me! Thanks a lot!

  14. i cant patch my dota with the latest patch there is an error of Prepatch Error

  15. i have dota 1.21 ,i tried patching 1.25 and 1.26a but same error in both cases

  16. Blizzard PrePatch v2.70 compiled on Jul 7 2003
    This program patches Warcraft 3

    Log created at 1:08 am on 08/21/2016

    ERROR: unable to create file ‘C:\Program Files (x86)\Warcraft III\BNUpdate.exe’
    Access is denied.

    RESULT: Prepatch failed

  1. Pingback: How To Play Warcraft 3 Online With Hamachi | Waajoyka

Leave a comment